Official Logo
Player Login


The Tulsa Rugby Football Club was formed in 1974 by Chris Sutton and a small band of dedicated enthusiasts. On March 1, 1975, Tulsa RFC traveled to Fayetteville where we bested the University of Arkansas 6-3 in the first match of a winning tradition.  

In its first three seasons, Tulsa RFC lost as many games as it won, but in the fall of 1976 we finished 9-2 and we have not had a losing season since. 1977-78 established Tulsa RFC as a regional power when we beat arch rivals Oklahoma City and other top clubs for the first time.

Randy Lionberger became coach in 1978, he is credited with turning the club around and with much of the clubs early success. He was the first ever recipient of the William Webb Ellis Award, now known as the Jared Shoemaker Award, presented for dedication and service to the club. Also in '78, Tulsa joined with other Oklahoma and Arkansas clubs to form the Ozark Union of the Western Region of the United States Rugby Football Union. In our early history Tulsa generally dominated our union in terms of won-lost records, championships, representatives on the union side, and members in the union administration. As many as three of our players advanced to the Eagles, our national Rugby representatives.

In 2011 the TRFC Women's side was formed thanks to the efforts of founders Tracy Rothermel and Necole Carpenter and Coach Steve Morris.

Hall of Fame


Class of 2014 Class of 2015 Class of 2016 Class of 2017 Class of 2018 Class of 2019
Randy Lionberger Kenneth Mackay Chas Haywood Gary Crews Robert Lindsey David Skidmore
Jim Redding Steve Waibel Allen Hobbs Jim Albertson Rev Jim Jones Chris Woodard
Charlie Bro Randy Stainer Thom Mericle      
John Hickey Alan Heap        
Steve Ingram          
Art Gafney          
Randy Dittmann          
Miles Kotay          



TRFC 40th Anniversary Video


©2021 Tulsa RFC
Tulsa Web Design by: Phillips360